Goat Cheese Cheesecake

NOTE TO READERS: You’ll want to use this crust recipe for the cheesecake! Sorry for any confusion!

Well…without further ado…the goat cheese cheesecake! Isn’t it beautiful? It’s so light and fluffy…lemony with that goat cheese-y aftertaste. It’s beautiful. It’s beautiful because we candied some lemon peels, used the perfect cheesecake crust…and added a dash of love.

If you’re just catching up on the story, last week I got it in my head that goat cheese needed to be a part of my life. And it needed to be in a dessert.

As I sifted through recipes and links saved, I came across Not Derby Pie‘s goat cheese cheesecake with caramel sauce. Her recipe sounded like it would hit the spot…but as my desire for goat cheese turned a wee bit obsessive. I decided the cheesecake had to be ALL goat cheese…no cream cheese at all. After about an hour of research (which I totally did NOT do while I was at work) and many recipes read later, I settled on an old Food and Wine recipe with some minor changes.

I like this cheesecake because it doesn’t have that heavy quality that most cream cheese cheesecakes have. It doesn’t coat your mouth in an uncomfortable, “I need a glass of water after I eat this.” sorta way. Like I said, it’s light, it’s airy…you can even see the air bubble craters on the top!

As the idea came together, I decided that I HAD to have a garnish for the cheesecake. Story time: I have a photograph in my bedroom that I took in Barcelona, Spain at the Park Guell designed by Antoni Gaudi, famous for his mosaics. The picture I took happened to be a large circle on the ceiling of a massive covered area of the park. Ta da!! That’s the inspiration for the lemon peels! See the squiggles?! Okay, maybe I’m the only one who thinks this is interesting…

Back to the recipe. This is one of those painfully simple recipes to execute. Don’t worry. You won’t mess it up. I will, however, warn you that a penchant for goat cheese is going to put a dent in your wallet. 11oz of goat cheese cost me about $15. So…wait until pay-day or make sure you really want it.

Enjoy!

Goat Cheese Cheesecake

Adapted from Food and Wine

11 ounces mild fresh goat cheese, softened

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1/2 lemon juiced

1 lemon zested

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

6 large eggs, separated

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°. Prep a springform however you like to do so. I don’t prep mine, since it’s nonstick and awesome. (I got it at the grocery store…true story.)
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the goat cheese with the granulated sugar, lemon juice, lemon zest and vanilla and beat at medium speed until smooth. Beat in the egg yolks, 2 at a time, incorporating them completely before adding the next batch. Beat in the flour at low speed.
  3. In another bowl, using clean beaters, beat the egg whites until firm but not dry. Beat one-third of the whites into the goat cheese mixture, then gently fold in the remaining whites. Spoon the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 40 mintues, or until a skewer inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely before serving.

32 thoughts on “Goat Cheese Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Recipe Roundup: Tapped Out Edition | ModernDomestic

  2. Pingback: Goat Cheese Cheesecake « One Bite At A Time

  3. Pingback: Goat Cheese Stuffed Squash Blossoms Vera Cruz Style | One Bite At A Time

  4. Pingback: Thanksgiving #TurkeyTalk Round Up | One Bite At A Time

  5. Pingback: Alejandra’s Fabulous Goat Cheese Cheesecake | Borderstan

  6. Pingback: First Oats, Then Goat’s

  7. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! I am Mo (cow) dairy free and just in the past year learned I could eat sheep and goat cheese. On a whim I decided to google goat cheese cheesecake and most recipes include cream cheese (I’m not into tofu versions of this either). So, you can imagine my delight in finding this recipe! I am excited to try it!!!!

  8. I made this after buying a bunch of honey vanilla goat cheese by accident. We didn’t know what to do with it so I made this cake for father’s day and it turned out really great. It was so good I am making one for my son’s first birthday. Thanks!

  9. Pingback: Chevre Cheesecake « Starbies & Sangrias

  10. have been searching for a goat cheese cheesecake recipe for awhile – as we raise dairy goats we have oodles of cheese – what better way to eat it then in a cheese cake. (I can feed my goats for 1 month for $15 and they give me 1 gallon of milk each a day – it takes 5 minutes hands on to make chevre, fromage blanc and other soft cheeses from a 75 cent cheese culture)

  11. Pingback: Thanksgiving Day 2011 – Menu and Recipe | The Carnivore and the Vegetarian

  12. Oh, my goodness, this is a heaven sent recipe for those of us who are not tolerant of milk from cows! I am soooo excited to make this, as I love, love, love cheesecake and have missed it since I developed my intolerance! I will come on and post when I try it to write about how delicious it was (as I am sure it will be amazing!)

  13. Pingback: Lemon Ricotta Cookies | One Bite At A Time

  14. Pingback: Top Recipes Of The Year & My NY Resolution | One Bite At A Time

  15. Making this tonight! I have an 11 ounce log of goat cheese that has to be used today! Thank you! I’ll probably have to freeze a lot of it, we’ll see how it goes.

  16. Pingback: Pressure Cooker Cheesecake!

  17. Amazing, I am intolerant of cows milk and this is the perfect answer to the question: What can I bring. Thank you, this is fabulous, even for my meat and potatoes husband.

  18. Pingback: spring birthday mania | The Grateful Apron

  19. This sounds delicious! Is there a way I could make this into a pumpkin goat cheese cheese cake? I can’t find any recipes and I really want to make one!

  20. Is the 3 TBSP of flour necessary? I am currently making a batch of goat cheese from my goat and think this would be the best, but I’ve never made a conventional cheesecake that requires flour

  21. Excellent recipe! It came out perfect. I used GF grahm crackers and did not add sugar to crust, and did 1/2 cup of maple syrup instead of 3/4 C sugar. This cake is so so good. Light fluffy slightly lemony. I am very pleased. 5 stars! Thank you for posting!

    Jen

  22. I used a gluten free graham crust with this cheesecake and it turned out great. It was so nice to find a recipe that didn’t call for cream cheese as well as goat cheese. It has a lovely lemony flavour and is quite light for a cheesecake. Definitely a make again. Well done!

Leave a comment