Lemon Ricotta Cookies

One of the things I wax poetic about most is that someday I want to have a house (preferably in a place like this) where I have a huge farm table (preferably one like this) and an open door where friends and family are welcome to come over any time to eat, have a glass of wine and talk or hang out. I love the idea of having a full house and, even more, I love the idea of feeding people really good food.

I’m an overachiever only child type though, so I often let the perfect be the enemy of the good. Why am I waiting for this magical house in the middle of nowhere and a farm table that will likely cost me a lot of money? I have an apartment. And a perfectly nice coffee table.

So a couple of Sundays ago I decided to make that goat cheese cheesecake, send a mass email out and invite people over. For about four solid hours I had people coming in and out of my place, eating cheesecake, drinking wine and having a generally great time. Old friends met new friends, I caught up with everyone and folks seemed to enjoy. (Added bonus: it forced me to clean my place and make sure my laundry was up and out of the way.)

Last weekend was the third or fourth installment of my Sunday Open House and I made a crap ton of cookies. Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies, Cranberry Cake and these lemon ricotta cookies. All three were a huge hit, but people swoon annually over these Giada cookies. Yeah. I said it. Giada. Judge me if you will, but not only are these cookies easy but they’re tasty!

I didn’t modify anything in the recipe, it’s perfectly fine as is. But if you wanted to get fancy you could substitute the lemon for any citrus fruit – orange, lime or even grapefruit if you really wanted to. Not really grapefruit, I think that sounds pretty awful actually.

Do you guys entertain much? How about you city dwellers…are you entertaining in a studio apartment with total disregard for spatial limitations? Any tips or tricks for me? I’m hoping to keep this up into the new year. It just feels so good to have people I love around…stuffing themselves silly with my food no less!

Recipe for the lemon ricotta cookies after the jump!

Lemon Ricotta Cookies

by Giada DeLaurentiis

Cookies:

Glaze:

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 lemon, zested

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

In a medium bowl combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

In the large bowl combine the butter and the sugar. Using an electric mixer beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the eggs, 1 at a time, beating until incorporated. Add the ricotta cheese, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Beat to combine. Stir in the dry ingredients.

Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Spoon the dough (about 2 tablespoons for each cookie) onto the baking sheets. Bake for 15 minutes, until slightly golden at the edges. Remove from the oven and let the cookies rest on the baking sheet for 20 minutes.

Glaze:

Combine the powdered sugar, lemon juice, and lemon zest in a small bowl and stir until smooth. Spoon about 1/2-teaspoon onto each cookie and use the back of the spoon to gently spread. Let the glaze harden for about 2 hours. Pack the cookies into a decorative container.

7 thoughts on “Lemon Ricotta Cookies

  1. LOL. No judgement on the Giada cookies from here, my dear. I use her biscotti recipe all the time (albeit without the tacky white chocolate/colored sugar dip).

  2. I was just about the leave the same comment as Luke – her biscotti recipe is my go-to. Anyway, I jut adored these lemon ricotta cookies and thanks to you I got to enjoy them for a few days! I loved chatting with you Sunday night and I look forward to more of these. I’d like to host little get togethers like this more often too! xo

  3. Pingback: Lemon Juice Powder

  4. Dear A. Your’e killing me softly (no, sweetly and tangily!) with your song!. Thank you so much for the recipe. Last summer I had purchased lemon, rosemary, marscapone sandwich cookies at a little farm market in northern Michigan (that is to say the boonies, for sure.) They were baked by Francesco Mazzella. That’s all I know but we all went immediately into cookie rapture over these. I think your lemon ricotta ones or, rather, Giada’s read: mock horror) will be a reasonable facsimile. I’m going to make them this week-end! thanks for the inspiration always. I’m glad your’e back — just in time for the year-end festivities. Love, L.

  5. Love the idea of having people randomly come over when they’re free for cookies and wine! What a fun way to entertain. We usually have a problem since we have a one bedroom, with a very small kitchen table (and only 2 chairs)- so it tends to be my book club for a sit on the floor dinner, or go small groups. Although a walk-through brunch like this would be good as well (and if people want to bring drinks or snacks they’re welcome). Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

