Cuban Black Bean Soup

Oh my gosh people. It’s been awhile since I’ve posted a recipe. And I’ll tell ya! I did all this really great cooking last weekend only to realize it gets dark by 7pm nowadays which means I can’t take a decent picture of the food to save my life.

In a way, it’s been nice to focus on cooking and tasting and trying new things rather than getting myself into a tizzy trying to stir and take photos or take pictures fast enough so I can eat the food warm!

Like finding a $20 bill in your winter coat, I came across some photos I took of this Cuban Black Bean Soup I had made months ago but never blogged about.

I make this soup often and what I extra love about it is that it’s a perfect portion for two (or one dinner and one lunch in my case). It is also uncomplicated and hearty without being heavy in the tummy. It makes me feel cozy when I eat it. And it has cumin and I love cumin.

Enjoy!

Cuban Black Bean Soup

Adapted from a Latina magazine recipe

  • 2tbsp olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2tbsp red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 ripe tomato, seeds and pulp removed, chopped
  • 1 can (16oz) black beans with juice
  • 1tsp cumin
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth (plus some extra)
  • 1tbsp red wine vinegar
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Cilantro to garnish

In a medium pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion and saute until translucent. Add garlic and saute for a minute or so. Add the tomato and cook about 5 minutes more. Add the can of beans with juice, cumin, broth and wine vinegar and stir together. Add broth until you reach the desired consistency.

Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes until heated through.

Remove 1 cup of the soup from the pot and reserve. Using a fork or potato masher, smash the living daylights out of the mixture that remains in the pot. Put the reserved 1 cup of soup back in the pot. Taste the mixture and add salt and pepper as needed. Add additional broth as needed – the mashing sometimes thickens the mixture.

Spoon into a bowl and garnish with a sprig of cilantro!

6 thoughts on “Cuban Black Bean Soup

Leave a Reply

