Potato, Shallot and Gruyere Galette

I can’t quite remember what got me on this idea of potatoes and onions. It might have been the potato pizza I had in Vegas. But the idea of a galette definitely came from Nikki Rapaport.

But I must admit. I cheated. I cheated bad. A simple galette crust is so easy to make from scratch. I used…*hangs head in shame*…oh god…I used a frozen pre-made pie crust.

Oh please! Who am I kidding!? I’m not ashamed!

I was having people over. I wanted to enjoy my little get together…including the cooking part. The last thing I needed was to be battling it out with a crust that was either falling apart or was too sticky. Pillsbury, I salute you. That crust is amazingly flaky. (Modern Domestic has a great post on pie crust science in case I’ve got you thinking about it.)

A layer of thinly sliced potato (my first time using a mandolin – unscathed thank you very much!), a layer of sauteed shallots, a layer of shredded gruyere cheese…repeat. It really doesn’t get much easier. And it’s a crowd pleaser!

Enjoy!

Potato, Shallot and Gruyere Galette

2 small potatoes (or 1 large) thinly sliced

5 shallots, thinly sliced

1tbsp olive oil

1 small block of gruyere

1 frozen pie crust

salt/pepper

Pre-heat your oven to 400F.

In a pan over medium heat combine olive oil and shallots. Saute until soft and just turning brown. Remove from heat.

While shallots are cooking, slice your potatoes up and shred your cheese.

Place one frozen pie crust on a foil-lined cookie or rimmed baking sheet.

Start with one layer of potatoes – place them slightly overlapping going around in a circle about an inch from the edge of the crust. Take about half the shallots and spread them evenly over the potatoes. Now a layer of shredded cheese – as much as you like. Repeat! If you’re feeling fancy reserve a few shallots to place on top of the last layer for garnish.

Now fold edge of dough over the potatoes. Pop that sucker in the oven and leave it alone for an hour, or until the crust is golden brown. Let it rest for a few minutes after you pull it out of the oven and then you’re free to slice and serve!

6 thoughts on “Potato, Shallot and Gruyere Galette

  1. Ohh looks yummy! Don’t be ashamed…I used a frozen pie crust too. I mean, it was just there in my freezer. I’m definitely going to try and make a savory galette now!

  2. That looks delicious! Although, seriously, once you’ve figured it out, making your own pie crust is just as easy as buying a frozen one. And it’s cheaper – and you almost always have the ingredients on hand. You can even have your own frozen pie crust, homemade, in your very own freezer – and it’s actually BETTER to bake your pie crust from the freezer anyway.

    Just sayin’. I think this really begs a joint blog post from both of us.

Leave a Reply

