It’s Friday: I’m Sorry Edition

Ko Sasaki for The New York Times

Hi folks…I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a week. Lotsa travel…lotsa work…lotsa I’m too tired to make dinner so how could I possibly write a decent post.

But I promise… I have at least three new recipes to share with you.

You’ll just have to wait until next week.

Since my brain is numb, I’ll leave you with this Eric Asimov Bourbon Sidecar for two recipe. The bourbon sidecar is one of my most favorite drinks in the world. I can thank my Great Great Boss (that’s my boss three times removed) for introducing me to this classy, classic cocktail.

Enjoy!

Bourbon Sidecar for Two

From Eric Asimov of the NYTimes’ Diner’s Journal

Bourbon (a sweeter style like Maker’s Mark is ideal)
Cointreau (other triple secs are not as good but will do in a pinch)
1 Juicy Lemon (or 1 Meyer lemon)
Ice
Large cocktail shaker with strainer
2 Martini glasses

Fill the shaker halfway with ice. Add four shots of bourbon, two shots of Cointreau and the juice of one lemon. If you want to be exact about it, the lemon juice should equal the two shots of Cointreau. Shake it up, and don’t stint on the shaking. I count to 100 as I shake, though I tend to count fast because that shaker gets cold! Sometimes wrapping it in a dish towel helps. Strain into the two glasses and serve immediately.

3 thoughts on “It’s Friday: I’m Sorry Edition

  1. Pingback: Weekend Food: Bourbon and Peaches Edition | Borderstan

  2. Pingback: Albondigas (or Spanish Meatballs) | One Bite At A Time

  3. Pingback: Out and About: The Ravenous Pig | One Bite At A Time

Leave a comment