Iced Coffee (Cause Damn, It’s Hot Out)

I’m blogging from New York City today…I’m at the World Innovation Forum. I’m getting all inspired and letting my creative juices flow and I’m thinking about how I can be more innovative at work. (I think I heard a collective groan from my colleagues back in DC.) I realize this isn’t food related, but if you’re interested in more on the subject, check me out on Twitter…I’m annoyingly live tweeting the event.

Is it just me, or did it get damn hot out of nowhere? DC has been experiencing some particularly sticky weather…and my Mom in Phoenix tells me they’ve already broken 100 degrees! My parents also had the unfortunate experience of their air conditioner breaking at exactly the wrong moment. Oh. Yay.

If you’re anything like me, you’re a coffee addict. But it’s too hot out to really enjoy my cup of joe all hot and steaming. The last thing I want to do in the morning is cozy up with my Starbucks cup…it’s more likely that I want to hold a cool, icy cup to my forehead somewhere around 8:30 in the morning cause it’s already so freakin’ hot I’m gettin’ dewy!

So I’m going to share with you how to brew some kick-ass iced coffee at home.

Enjoy!

Iced Coffee

How much coffee do you use to regularly? Double it. You need it make some supremely strong coffee to withstand the ice cubes you’ll be using later.

Milk, cream, half and half, sugar, Splenda, Stevia…whatever you add to your coffee

Ice cubes

No matter how you brew your joe, drip or french press, you’re going to add twice the amount of coffee to your apparatus. Brew as usual. However many cups you make, make ’em.

Once your coffee has been brewed, let it cool down to room temperature. Then stick your pot, french press, whatever, in the fridge overnight or for a few hours.

After the coffee is ice cold you can make your usual cup with all the fancy sugar substitutes and fat-free milk that your heart desires.

Drink. Sip. Slurp. I like slurping.

8 thoughts on “Iced Coffee (Cause Damn, It’s Hot Out)

  1. I did this today with yesterday’s coffee (I drink super strong coffee anyways) and I felt so economical for not going to DD or Starbucks to get an iced coffee. :) Hope you are enjoying NYC!

  2. My best friend is OBSESSED with cold-pressed iced coffee. I’ve been avoiding buying a French press because once I start making that coffee I’ll be drinking at All The Time, disrupting my long history of loving coffee but not drinking it daily. I’m afraid of addiction!

    But, I’d top my iced coffee with one of my two sugar free syrups :)

  3. You should make it via cold brewing. Taking hot coffee and cooling it tends to leave a slight bitter taste to the natural flavors of the coffee. I will sit mine in the fresh press overnight, stirring often, then pressing in the morning. You’ll catch the flavors of the coffee much better through this process albeit a time consuming one.

  4. Pingback: The Week In DC Food Bloggery | Borderstan

      • Not while it’s hot, but putting ice-cubes in ‘hot-brewed’ coffee is what you describe.

        The difference between your method and the cold brew that Joel describes is that the water originally used to make your coffee is hot, the water that Joel uses is originally cold. This is a key distinction. Coffee should only steep for 3-5 minutes when brewed with hot water – any longer and your coffee is bitter and acidic. Coffee brewed with cold water is steeped for a long period, usually 12-24 hours, before the grounds are removed.

        To me, the difference is huge. I like a little sugar in hot-brewed coffee to counteract the bitterness. I never drink a cold-brewed coffee with any sugar. There simply isn’t any need for it.

Leave a Reply

