Guest Post: Oreo Balls

This is a guest post from my co-worker and good friend Dave. If you remember the Cran-Orange Scones I made…it was Dave’s tried and true recipe that I used. I tweeted out that I’d had Dave’s Oreo Balls for breakfast one day last week and it was met with such enthusiasm (and some jealousy) that I asked him to guest post! Here we go:

Mmmm! Dave's Oreo Balls!

 

Like many of my friends, I learned a lot of my culinary skills from my mom.  While I’ve tried (and mostly succeeded) a number of her recipes, the one I’m most proud of are the Oreo Balls.

Let it be known that this is not an original from my mom (I’ve seen other recipes online), but it is easy, fun and a real crowd pleaser (just ask my office mates)

  • 1 package of Oreos
  • 1 block of cream cheese (softened)
  • 1-2 bags of semi-sweet morsels

Before the ball making begins, line either a cookie sheet, or whatever pan would fit into your freezer, with wax paper and set aside.

In a food processor (very helpful but you could use a rolling pin if that’s all you have) grind the whole package of Oreos into as fine a texture as possible (no large chunks please).

Add the softened cream cheese to the bowl and start mixing.  I’ve found this to be much easier with my stand mixer, but the hand held one worked great for years.  You’ll want a smooth, shiny texture to the mix.

Using a round teaspoon, scoop a full amount of the mixture into your hand, rolling it into a round ball.  Place onto the wax paper lined pan.  Continue this until your pan is full or you’re out of the Oreo mixture.  Freeze the balls.  Overnight is preferred but if you’re short on time, three hours will do.

After the frozen stage, melt your morsels either in a double broiler or in a glass bowl in the microwave.  You’re looking for a smooth consistency.  Get ready, ‘cause it’s time to dip your balls!

The rest of the directions are after the jump!

At this point, I’d recommend lining another cookie sheet or pan with wax paper and set next to the melted chocolate.

To keep your hands clean, I recommend using wooden skewers to dip the Oreo balls.  Poke the skewer into the Oreo ball and swirl into the bowl of chocolate, fully coating it.  To transfer it to the pan, press down on it with another skewer and swirl the chocolate on the top of the ball to cover the hole created by the skewer.  While the chocolate is still wet, sprinkle sea salt on top of each ball.  Continue this… (Note: Don’t take all the frozen Oreo balls out all at once, they’ll get too soft and are more difficult to dip at that point.  I recommend taking 3-4 out at a time).  Refreeze the chocolate-dipped Oreo balls again overnight if you can.

At some point, I’ll try using toffee or hazelnuts within the ball (put in before rolling) and possibly using almond extract or dark chocolate morsels (instead of semi-sweet).  Have fun and let your friends and family enjoy your balls!

3 thoughts on “Guest Post: Oreo Balls

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Guest Post: Oreo Balls | One Bite At A Time -- Topsy.com

Leave a comment