New Beer: Leinenkugel’s Summer Shandy

A couple weekends ago at the beach Jonah came home with two six packs of this:

I had no clue what it was and I’d never heard of it. But, in honor of DC Beer Week, I thought I’d share this summer-only gem of a find with you.

It’s a wheat blend beer with natural lemon flavor in it. It’s a hefeweizen mixed with lemonade. It’s a beer Arnold Palmer. It’s Leinenkugel’s Summer Shandy.

And with a name like that, how can you resist. Ladies, indulge…it’s only 130 calories and zero fat. Guys, get your koozie. I realize Summer Shandy isn’t necessarily the most masculine name in the world.

Enjoy! But enjoy soon – distribution stops at the end of August!

7 thoughts on “New Beer: Leinenkugel’s Summer Shandy

  1. Hmm… I had a tough time with this beer. I couldn’t get past the Lemon Pledge/Murphy’s Oil Soap smell. I have no problem with a Shandy. They’re delicious when done right. I haven’t made one since at least last summer, but I remember it being pretty tasty. Half Paul Newman’s Lemonade/Half Pilsner Urquel. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

    Cheers!
    G-LO

  2. Been drinking Leine’s for 20 years. You can get the “seasonals” at just about any beer store. The year rounds are tough. I get them carried from WI. Just finished my last original saturday.

Leave a Reply

