The Best Thing I Ate Last Week: Farmers Market Edition

When it comes to scones, I’m of the camp that believes they should be slightly dry. A bite of a crumby scone should inspire a sip of coffee or tea.

I loathe scones that are really just mislabeled muffin tops.

But this scone I had from Chris’ Marketplace at the Dupont Farmers Market, is unlike any other scone I’ve ever had. It’s neither dry, nor overly moist. It’s dense without being a brick. It’s light and fluffy in texture without falling apart at the first pull. In a word, it’s perfect.

Full disclosure – Chris is my neighbor and coffee shop buddy. Like any good dealer, he gave me the first one for free and now that I’m totally hooked I willingly shell out a couple bucks each Sunday for the deliciousness that is: ham, cheese (gruyere?) and Asian pears folded into the most perfect dough ever.

Chris tells me that by adding Asian pears he’s able to cut down on the amount of sugar in the dough because the pears practically melt away during the cooking process and naturally sweeten things up. Whatever, friend. Keep on doing what you do. Because it works!

But wait! Once you’ve purchased the scone, you have to resist the urge to eat it immediately. Save it for home! Nuke it for 30 seconds in the microwave and then you can eat it! You will not regret the wait. I promise.

Chris’ Marketplace is positioned near the corner of 20th and Q St, right by the metro, each Sunday from 8:30 – 1:00p.m. He also sells empanadas, soups and really (really) good crab cakes!

3 thoughts on “The Best Thing I Ate Last Week: Farmers Market Edition

  1. Pingback: The Best Thing I Ate Last Week: Farmers Market Edition | Borderstan

  2. Pingback: Last Night’s Leftovers: Apologies to Asian Carryouts Edition - Young & Hungry

  3. Pingback: District Line Daily: Barry Digs In, Making Fun Of Kevin Costner’s Vanity Band - City Desk

Leave a Reply

