New Year’s Resolutions 2011

via From Me To You

Another year, more resolutions.

  1. Cook more Mexican food. More specifically, I want to cook an entire meal, from scratch (everything…like…everything) at least two times this year. Maybe one occasion will be Thanksgiving? (I realize what this means Mom. You’re gonna end up making me do Christmas tacos this year aren’t you?)
  2. Learn to butcher…something that…ya know…lived once. Okay, I’ll be honest, I don’t really know what this means to me yet. Maybe I’ll start with spatchocking a quail or something similarly thin-boned. Maybe I’ll learn how to break down a chicken. Maybe I’ll get some balls and go learn how to cut up an entire pig. I don’t know. I just think it would be cool to learn how to cut up meat properly. Mostly I want to wield a large, sharp knife and take a picture of me making a super fierce face with it.
  3. Not buy anymore cookbooks. Until I cook from the ones I already have at least three times each. This. Is going to be hard. Because my idea of retail therapy-lite nowadays is buying pretty cookbooks.
  4. Use all those fun kitchen things I bought. Already using the dutch oven like gangbusters. I’m still borrowing Shaw Girl‘s mandolin. There’s other stuff too.
  5. Get back to baking. I really wanted to cook (like meals…I know! Muffins aren’t a meal. It was news to me.) more in 2010. As a result, I strayed from baking, which is my true love. Hear that coworkers? Carb Queen is back!! Buy stretchy pants!!
  6. Exercise with purpose. Joe Yonan noted in his recent Me Minus 23 post what his friends Karen Page and Andrew Dornenburg told him: “…everybody who is passionate about food should also be passionate about some form exercise.” I’ve always loved working out…and I fall in and out of running…but there’s a difference between going through the motions and really hitting the gym with purpose. I’ll be using my buddy Peter Shankman as inspiration from afar.

That’s all for 2011, folks. Considering how busy I’ve become, I’ll be lucky if I can do these…and this isn’t a bucket list. So yeah. We’ll see how we do!

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions 2011

  1. I really admire No. 2. I can handle the small stuff with relative ease (thin bones), but yes, a swine or a lamb would be absolutely AWESOME to know how to butch. Too bad it’s an almost dead trade, huh? Good luck and keep me posted on how that’s going.

  2. Pingback: How To: Butcher a Chicken | One Bite At A Time

  3. Pingback: Top Recipes Of The Year & My NY Resolution | One Bite At A Time

Leave a Reply

