Thanksgiving Wrap Up

I know, I’m way late in posting this…sorry : \

I have a confession. I don’t really love all the traditional Thanksgiving fare. I enjoy gratins, veggies prepared various ways and I certainly enjoy desserts. But I’ve never been a huge fan of turkey, cranberry sauce or traditional bread stuffing.

Thanksgiving Hostesses

What I do love is a gathering of happy, friendly faces – each with a glass of their chosen libation in hand. I enjoy a room full of chatter and laughter. I enjoy people eating – preferably my food and preferably they’re enjoying it.

What I love even more is when tradition is thrown completely out the window and people go for something so unique to their family it becomes a tradition to break tradition. This is my family. Mostly on Christmas though. Years ago, I convinced my mother to do a Mexican food-only Christmas dinner. My father grumbles annually, but in the end we’re always glad we did it. She makes amazing tacos!

I’m posting my crew’s Thanksgiving menu because there were some truly great dishes…but mostly because I’m a food blogger. Next year, I think I’m going to buck tradition, no matter the size of the group, and make different things…maybe things I grew up with, or just favorites I’ve acquired over time.

Thanksgiving Menu 2010

It was such a lovely meal. And clearly, we had a good time with each other :)

Thanksgiving 2010 Crew

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Wrap Up

  1. Love the bucking tradition idea. One of my most memorable Christmases was the year my mom was like “eh, screw it. let’s just make random stuff.” Crab cakes and enchiladas anyone?

  2. Pingback: New Year’s Resolutions 2011 | One Bite At A Time

Leave a Reply

