That’s What You Get For Eating In Vegas

Is it possible to get tired of eating? I say, “YES!!!” Because when your whole day is seemingly punctuated. By discussions. Of which restaurant. You MUST!! Try. Because you only. Have. Threetwoone day left in Vegas!!! Well, food, talking about food and eating food can become tiresome.

Highlights: juicy lamb chops, light and airy spinach soufflé, truffled mac n cheese and scalloped potatoes with goat cheese.

Eating out has an allure. It’s an event, something that feels special. Fine dining ups the ante on that allure. So when every meal you eat for three straight days is not only out, but fine. It starts to lose some of the allure. It becomes…common?

Highlights: San Daniele Prosciutto with Burrata Mozzarella, Steamed Manila Clams and Potato Onion and Goat Cheese Pizza.

Let me rewind for a second. I haven’t been posting much because I’ve been traveling a lot (explained here). Three weeks and three cities (and something like nine air planes) later, it’s safe to say I’ve been doing a lot of eating out. My time in Orlando was split between the hotel bar and The Ravenous Pig (post to come). In Phoenix there were plenty of dinners at home, but also plenty of “snacks” and “late dinners” to be had out and about. And, well, Vegas. It goes without saying that I had an ambitious list of places I wanted to check out.

Highlights: Taylor Bay Scallops on the Half Shell, Littleneck Clams on the Half Shell, Ahi Tuna Two Ways, RM Style “Cioppino” and Rhode Island Style Calamari.

The good news is, I don’t think I’ve had a bad meal anywhere I’ve eaten in the last three weeks (even at the hotel bar in Orlando *gasp*). The even better news is, I packed workout clothes everywhere I went and ran three miles a day. The bad news? There isn’t any. I’m a lucky chick. I’m a lucky chick with a really full belly.

So, if you’re a foodie heading to Las Vegas, let me save you some trouble. Just stay at Mandalay Bay. In addition to the establishments I’ve listed above, there’s Border Grill, China Grill, Red Square, Aureole, Fleur de Lys and Burger Bar. You could never leave the building for a single meal and never be happier. In fact, that’s just what I did while I was there.

**Thank you to @DCEventJunkie for the photos here! If you’d like to see photos of my meals, check out my Twitter feed. Much to the dismay of the Chefs and my fellow dinners I photographed and tweeted every dish on the damn table.

4 thoughts on “That’s What You Get For Eating In Vegas

  1. Great post. Totally agree. Mandalay Bay was amazing and Aureole was hands down one of the finest meals of my life. A. they have wine angels. b. the wine list was totally digital c. Seared Foie Gras. To. Die. For. Glad you got to work out. Only way to truly enjoy the next meal without the guilt. I also had dinner at the new Mandarin Oriental in their casual restaurant. Amazing pad thai. I’m heading back in January and will be at the MGM for the first time.

  2. Pingback: Potato, Shallot and Gruyere Galette | One Bite At A Time

  3. Pingback: Chef Adam Sobel Joins Bourbon Steak Team | One Bite At A Time

Leave a Reply

