Classic Americana From The Kitchen

Here’s some snippets from my post today on Borderstan! Link at the end so you can read the whole deal!

American Flag Jell-O Cake (from Kraft Food)

I didn’t really grow up with a lot of Americana from the kitchen…

But when I moved to the East Coast, I had a lot of friends who spoke of American Flag Jello molds and red, white and blue trifles.

This is completely elusive to me. Who spends five hours making an American flag out of Jello?! No. I’m not kidding. That recipe says it takes 5 hours to make. I assume with all that Jello setting, it would take some time.

Nigella Lawson's Gin and Tonic Jelly. (Nigella.com)

This weekend, I’d say, if you’re going to do something with Jell-O, you know what I’d recommend? Make Nigella Lawson’s Gin and Tonic Jelly. I haven’t tried it yet—but, oh, I plan on it. And, yes, I see the irony in making a 4th of July recipe from a British food writer.

This is as close to Jell-O-anything as I’m going to get and I appreciate the thin veil of sophistication that protects me from essentially saying, I want you to make this giant Jell-O shot. Serve it at your BBQ and watch your family members get tipsy.

After all, it’s a Nigella recipe. So not only can we be sure it will taste good, but we’ll all look extra sexy eating it too.

For more…and the recipe to Nigella’s Gin and Tonic Jelly read the full post at Borderstan!

Leave a Reply

