A Few of My Favorite Things

I was doing dishes last night and realized how often I wash my Mom’s wooden spoon. I use it for something nearly every day! Whether it’s to clean the coffee grinds out of my french press, to saute veggies or to stir a muffin batter…I love that spoon. Which got me thinking about my other favorite kitchen things…

…those infamous cookie scoops I wax poetic, and sometimes obsessive, about.

And the juicer. Ah the juicer. It was an impulse, “I deserve to get something  nice for myself gift.” And wow did I love it when I was making that lemon curd.

Finally, my Bodum french press. A Christmas gift from Mom…it fuels me daily. I love the ritual of boiling the water, grinding up my beans (Zabars right now, thank you sir!) and then slowly pressing them down, making the bean juice.

What are your favorite kitchen tools right now?

10 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Things

  1. Right now my favorite kitchen tool is a tea strainer for a cup. I use it every day to make one cup of jasmine green tea at a time. I love this loose leaf tea from World Market.

  2. Thanks for reminding me to get a cookie scoop!

    I’m obsessed with the Global knife my mom got me about 2 years ago- LOVE it!

  3. I have a “mom’s spoon” too, except mine was my grandmother’s…and same for me….almost daily use. Also my mezza luna…I haven’t quite attained your mad knife skilz just yet, and I especially rue chopping herbs, so the ML is a lifesaver.

  4. Can’t live without my Silpat! But also, coffee grinder, giant flexible spatula, fine mesh strainer, kitchen shears, thongs, and a rubber jar opener!

  5. Pingback: It’s Friday… « One Bite At A Time

Leave a Reply

