Zucchini Walnut Muffins

For some reason, I associate zucchini walnut muffins with my Aunt. Maybe it was her favorite kind? I just remember her bringing them over to my Grandmother’s house once when I was about counter top-height and I was fascinated by them.  Loved the suckers ever since.

Then there’s this silly thing…my Dad will often refer to a zucchini as a “zuke” or “zukes” for plural. Oh Dad! He makes me giggle.

Not too many notes on this recipe, folks. It’s a good one…the original recipe throws out the option to include raisins or dried cranberries…meh. I’m not too keen on that. Plus I was trying recreate a childhood memory here. I imagine you could bake this batter in a loaf pan rather than muffin cups if you made a few temperature/time adjustments.

I also had a thought last night:  maybe subbing the nutmeg/cinnamon combo for some pumpkin pie spice…or maybe even throwing in a half cup of pumpkin puree might deepen the flavors in this recipe? I’ll have to give it a try next time I make these! Or if you try, let me know how it goes!

Enjoy!

Zucchini Walnut Muffins

Adapted from Simply Recipes

  • 3 cups grated zucchini (that’s about 2.5 medium-sized zukes)
  • 2/3 cup melted unsalted butter
  • 1 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • Pinch salt
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 cup walnuts (toast ’em a minute on the stove top if you really want to bring out their flavor!)

Preheat the oven to 350°F. In a large bowl combine the sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Stir in the grated zucchini and then the melted butter. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the zucchini mixture and mix in. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Stir these dry ingredients into the zucchini mixture. Stir in walnuts.

Load the muffin tin up with some paper muffin cups. Use an ice cream scoop to fill each cup with batter – all the way to the top so you get a nice dome. Bake on the middle rack until muffins are golden brown, and the top of the muffins bounce back when you press on them, about 25 to 30 minutes. Test with a long toothpick to make sure the center of the muffins are done. Set on wire rack to cool for 20-ish minutes.

This made about 18 muffins for me! With a little batter left over for spoon licking.

One thought on “Zucchini Walnut Muffins

  1. Pingback: A Few of My Favorite Things « One Bite At A Time

Leave a Reply

