Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

Remember when I went to Austin? Yeah…I remember all that bacon!! Bacon everywhere in everything…bacon!!

What an inspiration. That bacon. Franks had that bacon chocolate chip ice cream sandwich and I really fell in love with it. So, much like the mascarpone pancakes, I wanted to recreate them. So here we go! I feel like I’m using the Bake Sale buyers as guinea pigs…I’m sorry guys…but I promise these are good!

Enjoy!

PS – Oh I can’t wait to take pictures of these! Maybe even a few pictures of happy bake salers enjoying them?! Maybe?!

Candied Bacon

Adapted from Group Recipes

  • 1 pound of thick-cute bacon (not smoked)
  • Light brown sugar
  • Coat the bacon with the brown sugar. Get dirty! Rub it all over the bacon!
  • Place the sugar-coated bacon on a parchment lined cookie sheet.  Line it! Just line it already! It’s a hard clean-up!
  • Put the pan in a pre-heated oven set to 350 degrees. Bake for approximately 15 minutes or until they pieces are crispy.
  • Let cool, chop into small pieces – about one cup of bacon for the cookies…
  • Original Toll House Cookies

    • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
    • 1 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1 teaspoon salt
    • 1 cup butter or margarine, softened
    • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
    • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    • 2 large egg
    • 1 (12 ounce) package NESTLE® TOLL HOUSE® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels
    • 1 cup chopped bacon
    1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
    2. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in morsels and bacon. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.
    3. Bake for 10 minutes (if you like ’em chewy!) or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

    5 thoughts on “Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

    1. Pingback: Update on DC Food Blogger Bake Sale For Haiti « One Bite At A Time

    2. I love cookies…and I LOVE bacon (like, I like my Sketchers, but I LOVE my Prada backpack type love); however, I was sure I would hate the combination. You totally proved me wrong, and this is a recipe I plan on trying when I have time to get dirty! Thanks, Alejandra!

    3. Pingback: Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies « Mollytics!

    4. Pingback: DC Food Bloggers Share Holiday Cookie Recipes | Borderstan

    Leave a Reply

    