Pumpkin Muffins

Do you have any memories of your mom baking or cooking something? Memories so clear it’s like they happened yesterday? One of my many memories with my mother, include these muffins. For a few reasons…

When my mom started making these muffins, I fell in love with powdered dry milk. Is that weird? Dairy purists everywhere are gasping, I’m sure. Anyway. To this day, I still keep dry milk in my cupboard just in case I run out or need milk STAT. I love dry milk.

Second thing about these muffins I remember: we made them so often that the wooden spoon I grew up stiring things with (and, in fact, still use in my own kitchen today) started to turn orange from all the carrots!! Ha!

More on the muffins though. These aren’t sweet-tooth muffins. I’ll warn you now. These are like those muffins at Trader Joes that brag, boldly on their labels, about how much fiber there is in them. These are muffins you eat for breakfast when you want something delicious, but filling.

Don’t judge them…appreciate them! Enjoy!

Pumpkin Muffins

1cup pumpkin

2 eggs

1tsp vanilla

2/3cup non-fat dry milk powder

6tbsp flour

2tsp pumpkin pie spice

1tsp cinnamon

1tsp baking soda

8pkgs Sweet & Low

Optional: 1/2cup grated carrots and 4tbsp raisins

Preheat oven to 350.

Butter a muffin pan, or place muffin liners in muffin pan.

In a bowl, combine all dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, combine and mix eggs and vanilla. Add pumpkin to egg mixture. Combine wet and dry ingredients and mix well. If desired, mix in carrots and raisins now. Using a cookie scoop (see, I told you you’d use it again!) and evenly distribute batter into muffin cups.

Bake for 15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean. Cool on a wrack or serve immediately with butter (clearly, this is my preference).

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffins

  1. I just love this from start to finish….from the whole heart-love aspect of the memory of making something with mom, right to the “8 pkgs Sweet n’ Low” (that really made me smile!). Truly, it encompasses everything I cherish about cooking: making food to give sustenance, nourishment and love to the people we care about. PS — Delighted to read that the chicken chilli turned out so fab for you!

  2. Pingback: Caramel Apple Cider Cookies « One Bite At A Time

  3. Pingback: A Few of My Favorite Things « One Bite At A Time

  4. Pingback: Thanksgiving Pumpkin Recipe Round-Up : The Thrifty Mommy

Leave a Reply

