Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake

Well, friends. That was an effing long week. I’m sorry I didn’t post this sooner…I had every intention of sharing it Monday…and then Tuesday…and then I just gave into the long days and energy-less nights.

But this is a good one for Friday…you must make this chocolate loaf cake this weekend! I told you about my new cookbook by Nigella Lawson. Yeah, well. She effing rocks. I command you…to make…this cake/loaf…immediately.

This is a good recipe to talk about what I like to call “trust the recipe.” This pretty much applies to any recipe you’re making and at some point you think to yourself, “This just isn’t going to work. What am I doing wrong.” Occasionally this ends up in a fail, but most of the time you just need to (say it with me now!) TRUST THE RECIPE!!

Don’t bother doing the whole knife/toothpick in the center thing to see if this cake is done. As Nigella says, and research proves, the cake will not be fully done…and it is going to sink in the middle. When all your friends make fun of you for seemingly effing up the cake…just repeat (like I did, obsessively) NIGELLA SAID IT WILL DO THIS!! I mean, just look at that chocolatey canyon there!

I love this cake…I love it so much I want to make sure it cooks all the way through and I get big, whole slices of its rich, dense, moist goodness. So next time I make this (maybe this weekend) I am going to try making it in a 13×9 inch cake pan. I’ll let you know how that goes!

Enjoy!

Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake

From sexy eater Nigella Lawson

1cup soft unsalted butter

1 2/3cups dark brown sugar

2 large eggs, beaten

1 tsp vanilla extract

4oz bittersweet chocolate, melted

1 1/3cups all-purpose flour

1tsp baking soda

1cup plus 2tbsp boiling water

9×5 inch loaf pan

Preheat oven to 375F, put a baking sheet on a lower rack in case ooey gooeies drop out of the loaf pan later. Grease and line the loaf pan with parchment paper. It’s actually really helpful to add the parchment…I was able to just lift this bad boy out of the pan!

Cream the butter and the sugar, then add the eggs and vanilla; beat well. Fold in the melted and slightly cooled chocolate, taking care to blend well but not overbeat. I don’t know what overbeat looks like, so let’s just say…when the chocolate is fully combined, just STOP THERE!!

Mix flour with baking soda and alternately add a bit of the flour mixture and a bit of the boiling water to the mixture. So, go flour, water, flour, water, flour, water…and try not to get all impatient and pissy like I did. It’s unbecoming.

You’re gonna have what basically looks like a bowl of thick hot chocolate in front of you…and you’re gonna think, “This is not going to turn into cake.” OH! But it does! :) Pour that shit into your prepped loaf pan and bake for 30 minutes at 375F. Then turn down the oven to 325F and cook for another 30 minutes. (Nigella’s recipe says to cook it for only 15 minutes but mine came out still under-done.)

Put the loaf on a cooling rack and let it cool completely before pulling it out of the pan. Actually, just let it sit in the pan over night. After it’s cooled, wrap it in tin foil and put it in the fridge. It tastes AWESOME the longer it sits…let it sit for two days! I dare you to resist!

2 thoughts on “Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake

  1. I’m so glad that you found Nigella. This sounds amazing. I’m not a baker but I love trying out her other recipes. There’s a Clementine Cake that I’d like to make but I’d be too tempted to eat the whole thing. Could you make it so I can at least see if the recipe works?

Leave a Reply

