2 Pasta Salads

I got a request (*ahem* I hope you’re reading, Tom.) for some healthy items. Well…I bake…and that’s not really the healthiest. However, I do have a New Year’s resolution to cook regular food more often this year. So into the cook books I went!

Whenever I think “healthy” I think farmer’s market…well it’s January, so scratch that. The second thing I think of is Weight Watchers. See, when I was 17, I spent a summer away from home…and having never cooked for myself, I proceeded to dine out for three months straight in ignorant bliss. My mother and father came to pick me up at the end of the summer and my poor mom was in pure shock. I had gained something in the vicinity of 20lbs. Yes. TWENTY POUNDS. So guess who ended up in Weight Watchers at the beginning of her senior year of high school? That’s right, this girl.

Of all the “diets” out there, I have always found Weight Watchers to work the best for me. It fits into my lifestyle and every so often it serves as a check-in of sorts . That said, I own two Weight Watchers cookbooks and a few of their magazines and I luuurrrrve them!

These are two of my go-to pasta salads…I usually make them during summer…especially for outdoor picnics or jazz outings. But they are also healthy, easy meals or sides for any time of year!

Enjoy!

Orzo and Feta Salad

Adapted from Weight Watchers 5 Ingredient 15 Minute Cookbook

1cup uncooked orzo

4oz crumbled feta cheese with basil and sun-dried tomatoes (um, more common than you’d think!)

1can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

3tbs fresh lemon juice

2tbs olive oil

1/2tsp salt

1/4tsp ground black pepper

Cook pasta in salted water until tender and done to your liking. In a bowl, combine orzo with beans and cheese; toss gently. Whisk together lemon juice, oil, salt and pepper in a separate bowl. Drizzle dressing over pasta mixuture and toss gently. Serve room temperature. (Preferably on a picnic blanket while basking in the sun.)

Antipasto Salad

Adapted from Weight Watchers 5 Ingredient 15 Minute Cookbook

1 1/2cups three-cheese tortellini

3/4cup artichoke hearts, roughly chopped

1/4cup sun dried tomato halves in oil, roughly chopped

1/2cup kalamata olives, roughly chopped

1/4cup, plus 2tbs fat-free balsamic vinaigrette

Cook pasta in salted water until tender and done to your liking. Combine cooked pasta and rest of ingredients in a bowl together, toss gently. Serve immediately.

Cooks note: you’ll probably want to head over to your grocery store’s olive bar for most of these ingredients. I find the flavors are better if you buy from an olive bar rather than use pre-packaged items. Also, for the balsamic vin., I wholeheartedly endorse Maple Grove Farms of Vermont’s fat-free balsamic vin. It’s worth looking for it…

4 thoughts on “2 Pasta Salads

  1. So Ms. Owens…we’re having folks over for dinner and one is lactose intolerant…any good suggestions for a side dish? Main course is chicken…

    • Caramelized brussel sprouts! With bacon! I made them for Thanksgiving and The BF was pleasantly surprised…being a sprout hater and all! :) I’ll shoot you the recipe? When’s dinner?

  2. Pingback: snOMG Weekend Menu! « One Bite At A Time

  3. Pingback: Homemade Twix! « One Bite At A Time

Leave a Reply

