Pot Roast and Popover Panoply

The BF likes meat and potatoes. If it comes from a cow and is a brown root vegetable, he’ll eat it and love it. So last weekend (Sunday to be exact) in a one-two punch to my New Year’s resolutions I took on mastering meat and rocking the crock pot and slow cooked a pot roast. I chose popovers as a side because I’d been thinking about BLT Steak’s popovers which…are…um, how do I say, other-worldly?! 

First step to tackling new recipes: get all the appropriate hardware. I didn’t have a popover pan (and in retrospect probably didn’t need one but I wasn’t about to use a muffin pan for my first popover experiment, duuhhh!) and so the hunt began. I first visited Coffee and The Works which is my go-to, in-my-hood, last-minute, looking-for-odd-ball cooking-related needs (giant pizza spatula, anyone?!)and!…they were out of popover pans. Okay, okay fine. Bed Bath and Beyond will have one right?! No. Okay at that point I felt like I was destined to NOT make popovers, but I pressed on. Hills Kitchen!! Success! Not only did they have a popover pan…they had TWO KINDS!! So I bought the one that looked like the pans BLT Steak uses (cause I’m a copy-cat like that). 

 

Next up…buy a big ‘ol hunk-o-meat. Well that was easy…Eastern Market. I drag The BF and a visiting friend down to the Market for some breakfast and meat buying fun at Union Meat Company, LLC. Boys…you do me right every time. I love you. The BF loves you. 

 

Finally, cooking time! Which…was a little anticlimactic since “cooking” meant putting things in a crockpot and um, putting the lid on top. 

Minus the part where we  had to sear the roast. See, my tiny studio apartment has a very sensitive smoke detector (for which I am endlessly thankful, unless I’m searing meat). I’m no dummy…I’ve seared meat before and seen the plumes of smoke that can be produced. Afore mentioned visiting friend had a nifty solution: block the door with a sheet (which I held up) while he seared the meat. Well you can laugh at me if you want to, but it worked. No ear-splitting BEEP! BEEP! BEEP! came from the detector (honestly, there wasn’t that much smoke) and the meat was seared to perfection. 

 

The popovers were easy enough to make, though I did need to put them back in the oven longer than the recommended baking time as they were a wee bit on the gooey side. 

I should note that I found out about the pot roast recipe from The BF’s mom (shout out!) who got it from Paula Deen. A quick read over the comment section of the recipe revealed a lot of folks claiming the recipe was too salty. To mitigate that I made some changes, like using low-sodium soup, and lowering the number of bullion cubes. Don’t do that…unless you’re on a low-sodium diet. While the roast was still flavorful, some more salt would have served the dish well.

I hope you enjoy this easy little dinner as much as we did!

Easy Popovers

Adapted from The Kitchn 

1 tablespoon unsalted butter, plus extra for greasing the pan
2 large eggs
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups milk 

Preheat the oven to 450, and grease the pan.  

Melt the tablespoon of butter and set it aside to cool slightly.  

Break the eggs into a bowl and whisk gently. Then stir in the flour, salt, milk and melted butter until just blended.  

Fill the cups 2/3 to 3/4 full, and bake at 450 for 15 minutes. Reduce oven temp to 350 and bake an additional 20-30 minutes. Don’t open the oven door for the first 20 minutes or so…they say the popovers won’t fluff up if you do.  

When they have a nice golden brown color, remove them from the oven, and quickly make a small slit in their sides with a sharp knife. Serve immediately and shmear some butter on those things!   

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

 

Adapted from Paula Deen 

1 (3-pound) boneless chuck roast 

Salt, pepper, garlic powder 

1/4 cup vegetable oil (I actually used olive oil and it was fine.) 

1 onion, thinly sliced 

2 large Russet potatoes, cut into large chunks 

2 carrots, peeled and chopped 

3 bay leaves 

2 beef bouillon cubes, crushed 

4 garlic cloves, crushed 

1 (10 3/4-ounce) can condensed cream of mushroom soup 

1 cup red wine 

Rub down the roast with ample amounts of salt, pepper and garlic powder. Using a skillet over high heat, sear roast until brown on all sides in oil. Place roast in a slow cooker, layer onions, bay leaves, crushed bouillon cubes, garlic, and cream of mushroom soup. Add red wine and cover with two cans of water (use the mushroom soup can to measure). 

Cook on the low setting for 7-8 hours adding the potatoes and carrots to the mix at about hour 6. You’ll want to allow them enough time to cook thoroughly and absorb the flavors, about an hour. 

Don’t have a slow cooker? You can do the same thing in the stove! Check it out.  

**Please pardon the inconsistent formatting…I’m working on figuring out how to fix that!

2 thoughts on “Pot Roast and Popover Panoply

Leave a Reply

