Things I’m Afraid To Tell You: Food Blogger Edition

I love Twitter. Yesterday as I perusing my feed I noticed that fellow blogger buddies Jenn of Dear Heart and Nikki Rappaport of Cupcakes for Breakfast were tweeting about the hashtag #thingsimafraidtotellyou. After clicking through on a number of the posts folks were talking about I learned about this, sometimes heart wrenching, movement.

 Creature Comforts 

Basically, it was born of style and design bloggers saying, “Hey! We like to keep it all positive and pretty on our blogs and social media, but life isn’t always positive and pretty…and it’s okay.” And so, they began sharing things that they might have been afraid to share in the past. Deep secrets, things they thought they’d be judged for, things they only tell their closest friends…and things that are just silly!

I appreciate raw honesty. Because if you’re thinking it, there’s probably someone else in the world thinking it too. Also, I’ve always been that person in the room that says what everyone else is thinking but been too afraid to say.

I think it’s important to note here that I’m not doing this for sympathy, affirmation or some kind of narcissistic drive for compliments. The idea is more that – in this idyllic world, where everything is Instagram’d, organic, local and all that hoo-hah, things aren’t perfect and it’s okay. But more importantly, you are definitely not the only one noticing that things are less than perfect.

A quick story to exemplify what I’m getting at. I was recently at a food event with one of my favorite food bloggers. We were chatting about how busy we’d been recently – between life and work and trying to work out and get some of that coveted quiet time, cooking beautiful meals isn’t always a priority. She commented on her favorite cereal, and how sometimes that’s what’s for dinner and it’s exactly what she needs. I retorted, “You should post that on your blog! I wonder what your readers would think!” The truth is, you’ll never see a post about the nights food bloggers eat ice cream, cheese and crackers or a huge bowl of cereal. Because that’s not what a food blog is. But you know what a huge bowl of cereal for dinner is? Life.

So, in the spirit of honesty, and hoping other food bloggers might follow suit, here is my list of Things I’m Afraid To Tell You:

Sometimes, I buy produce and never use it. Yeah, sometimes that farmers market bounty sits in the fridge with the best of intentions but never turns into anything. Usually because I end up eating out or going to happy hour and my plans to cook are squashed. Shoot me.

Many nights, if dinner isn’t physically out – it’s cheese/crackers/wine or delivery from Seamless. And for the nights I make it home at a decent hour, especially nights after Wednesday and before Sunday, I am sometimes so damn tired I can’t even think about cooking.

I love exploring food, but I have a tenuous relationship with my body. I will never not enjoy eating. Food tastes too good, of course. But I’ve had an up and down struggle with my weight and how I feel about myself since high school. Finding a balance can be difficult at times!

I frequently lose and regain my passion for cooking. Like most things in life, there’s an ebb and flow. I’m actually grateful for this, because each time I regain the passion it’s like a brand new high. (Note: I, clearly, never lose my passion for eating!)

I’m a chronic overachiever and now that I’ve been doing it for 30 years I’m starting to realize this is no way to live. There’s a fine line between always wanting to do your best and never quite being happy with what you’ve done. Sometimes, most of the time, my over achieving results in the latter, always looking to the next accomplishment or not taking time to savor what I just achieved. Lately I have to keep asking myself, “To what end am I doing this?” Which then makes me ask, “Is that even the end I want? Is that really a priority right now?”

I’m a little bit uncomfortable in life right now. See: prior point. But being uncomfortable is cyclical, and usually a sign of growth. Just like the achy growing pains I’d get when I was little. (Right?)

I feel mega guilt about not posting here (or the other blogs I write for) as much as I want to. I have so many ideas for great blog posts, but there’s either not much time to write them or in the time I do have, I prioritize other things like, myself or friends.

I have serious blogger envy at times. This was a pretty common theme among some of the other TIATTY posts. I, too, envy others’ beautiful site designs, time to write more frequent posts and (this is the kicker) those who are financially supported by a significant other and can make this their full-time gig, or at least give it a serious go without financial concerns. I’d like to note that I regularly check myself and remember to appreciate what I have!

So that right there, was a whole lot of honesty. What are some things you’re afraid to tell people? Consider leaving them in the comments…or if you have a blog, maybe do a post of you own! I have to tell you, it’s scary and cathartic to write it all down.

20 thoughts on “Things I’m Afraid To Tell You: Food Blogger Edition

  1. I am with you on pretty much all of these. Particularly, I’m often too tired to cook after work, yet I get frustrated with myself when I struggle to maintain my weight. I’m also very uncomfortable with where I’m at in life and itching for change. It’s nice to know that so many of us are on the same boat!

    • Yes! Totally on the same boat! I’m a firm believer that everything happens exactly the way it’s supposed to so..all this discomfort will hopefully lead to something!

  2. After my nutritional detox I feel like everything I cook is just so basic that everyone would be bored to tears to read about it in my blog. Could I eat any more breakfast quinoa or oatmeal? Boring, boring. Instagram has become my new sharing platform of choice. I over post, over share and I’m okay with it. I also feel kinda like a jerk with my big ass camera at restaurants now. Friend at my favorite restaurants are so used to it but it is kind of nice to snap a quick iPhone photo quietly and then enjoy my date and dinner without the pressure (I put on myself) to then write about. Always love your good thoughts and forward thinking. Thanks for sharing. xoxo

      • Wonderful seeing you and your gang this week at one of the best spots in town! Hello meatless Monday mac n cheese! K said that Instagram was “so last year”. So what is the next Insta-gratification-share-tool that doesn’t take a ton of time? xoxo

  3. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this. I totally get you on so many of these things! The one about produce made me laugh out loud because I do that too. Sad story. I think you’re doing great though and these things will work themselves out in time. xo

  4. Thanks for the honesty. I can relate to everything you said. I always over-commit and take on too much. I long for a day when I won’t have to live 2 lives. Sometimes it gets extremely overwhelming and I feel like giving up. I tell myself to take things day-by-day and try to remember that if producing/food blogging aren’t fun anymore, then it is time to cut back. I started this food life as an outlet to explore my passion and at times it can definitely feel like an obligation. I applaud you for doing what you love and balancing it all! Thanks again for raising the truth!

    • Day-by-day is all you can do, and yes, try to keep it fun. And btw…the haters are always gonna hate…try not to mind them too much. And if ever you need a reminder that you’re great, you know who to hit up ;)

  5. While we’re being honest, sometimes I get mean emails from tv viewers that make me very sad. Some people have a lot of hate. They don’t realize that negative things they say really do hurt people. I try not to take it personally, but it isn’t always easy. That’s also one of the reasons I try to keep my blog content positive. Firm believer in not saying anything at all if I don’t have something nice to say… (well at least not publishing it).

  6. I’m glad I clicked on this :)

    This part: “I’m a chronic overachiever and now that I’ve been doing it for 30 years I’m starting to realize this is no way to live. There’s a fine line between always wanting to do your best and never quite being happy with what you’ve done. Sometimes, most of the time, my over achieving results in the latter, always looking to the next accomplishment or not taking time to savor what I just achieved. Lately I have to keep asking myself, “To what end am I doing this?” Which then makes me ask, “Is that even the end I want? Is that really a priority right now?””

    I was away in Indianapolis last weekend, a fun and relaxing time spent with an old friend watching life go by on a lake. And without realizing it I was questioning everything I do and why I do it. What do I REALLY value? Are all these things more important that the ones I sacrifice? When will I admire my own accomplishments like others seem to? I didn’t come up with any answers (yet) but I’m glad I started asking myself the questions.

    Lovely read Alejandra, thanks for sharing.

    • I’m glad you liked it! I don’t have answers yet either – marinating in it still. We’ll see where we come up, but I’m sure it’ll be all good stuff for both of us!

  7. Pingback: Things I’m Afraid To Tell You: Food Blogger Edition | Borderstan

  8. I dig it. Mostly because it’s a head-fake; your context is food and blogging, but you’re addressing some general principles of humanness. You’re right, sometimes our actual behavior is not pretty, contradictory even from what we chose to present in the public forum, but our ability to recognize and embrace it certainly is. There is beauty in acceptance, and a wealth of comedy found by sharing what we actually experience.

Leave a Reply

